Kelvin Soto, Esq.
Clerk of the Circuit Court & Comptroller
2 Courthouse Square
Kissimmee, Florida 34741
Phone: (407) 742-3500

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Marriage Licenses
Apply for a Marriage License

Marriage Licenses

Couples wishing to get married in Florida may apply for a license in person at our office location:

Marriage licenses are issued by appointment only utilizing our online kiosk. To begin the process, please click here: Online Marriage Kiosk

Marriage licenses are issued by appointment only (one appointment per family, please) Monday through Friday from 8:30am – 3:30pm. Schedule your appointment here :  Wizard Appointment -Service.

Location:
Osceola County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller
Recording Department
2 Courthouse Square
Kissimmee, Florida 34741
Phone: 407-742-3500

Email:
[email protected]

The marriage license is valid only in the state of Florida for a period of 60 days. Once issued, Florida residents must wait three days to get married, unless the couple attends a premarital course from this list of registered providers and presents the certificate of completion when applying for their license. There is no waiting period for non-Florida residents. The Clerk’s office also performs marriage ceremonies for a fee of $30.00. Appointments are necessary.

After the marriage ceremony, the officiant (pastor, priest, minister, notary public, etc.) must fill out and sign the marriage license. The marriage license must then be dropped off or mailed to our office locations to be recorded in the Official Records. A certified copy of the marriage license will be returned to the couple once it is recorded.

 

Marriage License Requirements

Marriage License Requirements

Both parties must be present when applying for a marriage license, sign the application form, and take an oath to the truthfulness of the information provided. Marriage Ceremony must take place within 60 days.

Both parties must provide proof of the following:

  • Identification:
    • Driver’s license issued in the United States.
    • Federal or state identification card; or
    • Passport showing your name and date of birth (birth certificates or green cards are not accepted).
  • Both parties must read the Family Law Handbook – English and Spanish Versions prior to obtaining a marriage license.
  • If either person was married before, the way the last marriage ended and the exact date the marriage ended are needed. Copies of the death certificate, final decree of divorce, or annulment are not required.

Requirements for Minors 17 to 18 Years Old (One or Both Applicants)

All of the following are required:

  • The person is at least 17 years of age and provides the written consent of his or her parents or legal guardian, which is acknowledged by an officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments and administer oaths; and
  • The older party to the marriage is not more than 2 years older than the younger party to the marriage.
Waiting Period & Discounted License

Waiting Period & Discounted License

The mandatory three-day waiting period for Florida residents may be waived if the couple attends a premarital course (minimum of 4 hours) from a provider registered in Osceola County and presents a certificate of completion when applying for a license. There is no waiting period for non-Florida residents.

Additionally, both residents and non-residents of Florida may receive a $25 discount on their marriage license by completing a premarital course. The course must be completed no more than one year prior to the date of application for a marriage license. Both parties must attend the course. A certificate of completion must be presented at the time of application to be eligible for the discount.

Certificates showing completion of a premarital course must include the number of hours attended (minimum of 4 hours required).

The premarital course provider list is available online (link below) and at our office location.

Marriage License Forms & Fees

Marriage Handbook and Form(s)

The Marital handbook is prepared as a public service by The Family Law Section of The Florida Bar.

Pursuant to Florida Statute 741.01, this form is provided to allow both parties to the marriage to state under oath in writing if they are the parents of a child born in this state and to identify any such child they have in common by name, date of birth, place of birth, and if available, birth certificate number – one form per child.

Marriage License Fees

Florida Residents (Both Took Course) Fee $61.00 – No Waiting Period
Florida Residents (No Course) Fee $86.00 – 3 Day Waiting Period
Couple (Both Parties Are Out of State – Both Took Course) Fee $61.00 – No Waiting Period
Couple (Both Parties Are Out of State – No Course) Fee $86.00 – No Waiting Period
Couple (One Party is Out of State – Both Took Course) Fee $61.00 – No Waiting Period
Couple (One Party is Out of State – No Course) Fee $86.00 – 3 Day Waiting Period
Performing Ceremony At The Clerk’s Office Fee $30.00
Marriage Ceremonies

Marriage Ceremonies

Ceremonies are conducted Monday – Friday from 8:30am – 3:30pm. Appointments required. Schedule your appointment here :  Wizard Appointment -Service. Fee: $30.00

Marriage Ceremonies available in the ceremony room. 

Marriage Ceremony must take place within 60 days of obtaining the license.

Authorized to Perform Ceremony

Florida Statutes 741.07, Persons authorized to solemnize matrimony are All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel or elders in communion with some church, or other ordained clergy, and all judicial officers, including retired judicial officers, clerks of the circuit courts, and notaries public of this state may solemnize the rights of matrimonial contract, under the regulations prescribed by law.

After the Ceremony

**LICENSE MUST BE RETURNED WITHIN 10 DAYS AFTER THE CEREMONY**

Within 10 days after the marriage ceremony, the officiant (pastor, priest, minister, notary public, etc.) must fill out and sign the marriage license. The marriage license must then be dropped off or mailed to our office locations to be recorded in the Official Records. A certified copy of the marriage license will be returned to the couple once it is recorded.

Copies & Certified Copies of Marriage Licenses

Copies & Certified Copies of Marriage Licenses

To view a marriage license that was applied for and recorded in Osceola County, search the official records online. Uncertified copies may be printed on your own printer for free. Certified copies may be purchased from the Clerk’s office. The charge for a copy is $1.00 per page and an additional $2.00 to certify the document. If you are using the copy for a legal purpose, we suggest that you purchase a certified copy.

If your license was applied for in another county or state, you must search the records in that county or state.

You may also send a written request for a copy. Please provide the names of both parties (including maiden name, and if known, date of marriage).  Acceptable forms of payment are cash, cashier’s checks, or money orders payable to Osceola Clerk of Court. Personal checks are not acceptable.

Osceola County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller
Recording Department
2 Courthouse Square
Kissimmee, Florida 34741
Phone: 407-742-3500

You can also access images of recorded marriage licenses on our website by clicking here.

Special Wedding Ceremonies

Valentine’s Day Group Ceremony & Reception

After its widely popular HalloWedding, the Office of Kelvin Soto, Esq., Osceola Clerk of the Circuit Court & County Comptroller, is hosting a group Valentine’s Day Group Ceremony & Reception in the Historic Osceola County Courthouse.

On February 14th, 2023, couples who have registered will be married in one of two group ceremonies by Clerk & Comptroller Kelvin Soto.  The two ceremonies, one in English (10 a.m.) and one in Spanish (2 p.m.), will be held in the state’s oldest courthouse in continuous use.  The cost for the special group ceremony and reception is $50 (nonrefundable) which includes statutory ceremony and recording fees, a commemorative certificate, light reception fare, and photo opportunities.

Space is limited so registration is required.  To register, please ask your Customer Care Agent when you make your appointment for a marriage license between now and Friday, February 10!  Appointments for marriage licenses may be made here:  Wizard Appointment -Service.  Please note, marriage license fees are in addition to the group ceremony fee and are based on statutory requirements. 

What:  Valentine’s Day Group Ceremony & Reception

When:  Tuesday, February 14, 2023 (Registration Required)

Where:  Historic Osceola County Courthouse, 3 Courthouse Square, Kissimmee, FL 34741

Celebration of Love Wedding Ceremony

During the month of February, the Osceola County Jon B. Morgan Courthouse Marriage Ceremony room has been turned into a romantic venue space in celebration of Valentine’s Day. Couples getting married from February 1st – February 28th will receive a complimentary Valentine’s themed commemorative decorative certificate. We look forward to celebrating love all month long! 

About the Historic Courthouse:

Local legends surround the Historic Osceola County Courthouse. The Historic Courthouse began holding trials in 1889 and is the oldest courthouse in continuous use in the State of Florida. All types of cases, from chicken thievery and the selling of moonshine, to high profile murder cases have been heard in the Historic Courthouse building.  The building was added to the National Historic Register in 1977.  More information can be found from the Ninth Judicial Circuit Court: 1890: The Red Brick Courthouse | Ninth Judicial Circuit Court of Florida (ninthcircuit.org)