Traffic

Kelvin Soto, Esq.
2 Courthouse Square
Kissimmee, Florida 34741

Traffic

Traffic InformationTraffic Citation Options Traffic FeesTraffic FormsOperation Green Light

The Traffic Division is the largest single court-related area of the Clerk’s Office. The Traffic Division is responsible for processing all traffic citations issued by the Kissimmee Police Department, St. Cloud Police Department, Osceola County Sheriff’s Department, the Florida Highway Patrol (when issued in Osceola County), and other state law enforcement agencies.

The Traffic Division is located at 2 Courthouse Square, Kissimmee, Florida. Individuals with citations report there to satisfy citations, request a hearing, elect traffic school, and seek other information. Traffic Court is held in the Osceola County Courthouse.

We have cashiers available where customers can elect an option. Technology plays a key role in allowing the Clerk’s Office to process a case quickly. The Clerk of Court is authorized by Florida Statutes to reinstate the driver’s license and privilege to drive when a person complies with all obligations and penalties imposed.

Drivers License Check

Upon receipt of a traffic citation for any violation, you have 30 days from the issue date of the citation to elect one of below options:

  • Option 1: Pay the Civil Penalty (points may apply)
  • Option 2: Elect to Go To Traffic School
  • Option 3: Request a Court Hearing
  • Option 4: Submit Proof
  • Option 5: Request a Conditional Plea
  • Option 6: Correct & Certify Defect
Option 1: Pay the Civil Penalty

Option 1: Pay the Civil Penalty

Points May Apply. Visit Common Traffic Violation Points for further information.

Payments Accepted:
Cash, Cashier’s Check, Money Order, Personal Checks made payable to CLERK OF COURT, or Credit/ Debit Card. Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, and Digital Wallet Payments are subject to service charge.

Pay Online:
(Some exclusions may apply)
Pay by credit card here.

Pay at a Florida Amscot Location:
(Cash Only. Some exclusions may apply)

To locate an Amscot near you, call 1-800-801-4444 or visit www.amscotfinancial.com.

Pay By Phone:
(Some exclusions may apply)
nCourt: 1-888-912-1534
Clerk’s Office (during operating hours): (407) 742-3566

Pay In Person/By Mail:
Osceola County Courthouse, 2nd Floor
2 Courthouse Square, Kissimmee, FL 34741

Mail your payment with name, address, phone number and citation number. Cashier’s Check, Money Order or Personal Checks made Payable to CLERK OF COURT accepted.

Enroll In a Partial Payment Plan:
Points may be assessed. A $25.00 service fee applies. You may appear in person or visit here to apply for a partial payment plan. If you have questions, please call (407) 742-3566.

Payment Extension Information:
Pursuant to the Ninth Judicial Circuit Administrative Order Number 2008-10, the Clerk of Court may grant up to 2 extensions if made within 30 calendar days of the issue date of your citation. Each extension is $4.00 and the fee must be paid in person or by mail when the extension is requested. (Election for an extension waives your ability to receive a reduction or dismissal for your citation.)

Option 2: Elect to Go To Traffic School

Option 2: Elect to Go To Traffic School

You may select this option if:

  1. You do not hold a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL).
  2. You were not driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) at the time of the offense
  3. You have not elected driving school within the preceding twelve (12) months.
  4. You have not elected driving school more than five (5) times in your lifetime

To check your eligibility for driving school, click here.

It is entirely your responsibility to enroll in driving school. Once completed, verify submission of your certificate by checking online here. If it is not shown as received, you must contact your school and ask them to submit it electronically.

Failure to ensure that the school completion certificate was submitted will result in the suspension of your driving privileges, points being assessed to your record and assessment of additional costs.

Option 3: Request a Court Hearing

Option 3: Request a Court Hearing

You may appear in person or request in writing within thirty (30) calendar days a hearing for any non-criminal traffic infraction. Click here for form.

The Judge may impose one or more of the below penalties.

  • In most cases a civil penalty not to exceed $1000; some infractions may be over a $1000 civil penalty, s. 318.14(5) FS
  • Mandatory attendance at a driver improvement school; s. 318.12(5) FS
  • Revocation or suspension of driving privileges; s. 316.655(5) FS
Option 4: Submit Proof

Option 4: Submit Proof

This option is not available if you received an extension.

Citations for failure to carry/exhibit driver’s license, registration, or insurance are eligible for:

  • Proof valid at time of offense = $10.00 plus copy of valid proof.
  • Proof renewed after offense = reduced fee, copy of valid proof, and completed. Click here for the form.

    • Expired/No Driver’s License $98.25
    • Expired/No Registration $98.25
    • Expired/No Insurance $80.90
    • Driving While License Suspended without Knowledge: $98.25
  • No proof = full amount plusClick here for the form.

You may only make one such election per twelve (12) month period or no more than three (3) elections in a lifetime.

Option 5: Request a Conditional Plea

Option 5: Request a Conditional Plea

A plea for those defendants who wish to resolve their case without making a personal appearance at the courthouse and desire that their case be reviewed to determine if the infraction be resolved by a withhold of adjudication of guilt resulting in “no points” on their driving record. Not available for citations involving a traffic crash. Click here to submit the Conditional Plea form. If the court accepts the Conditional Plea, a disposition order will be entered by the court and returned to you via mail without further hearing, and you will have 120 days to satisfy any penalty imposed by the court.

Option 6: Correct & Certify Defect

Option 6: Correct & Certify Defect

This option is not available if you received an extension, operated a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) or a transit bus owned by a governmental entity.

Citations for the below may be eligible for a reduced fee.

  • Operating a motor vehicle in an unsafe condition (s. 316.610 FS)
  • Not properly equipped (s. 316.610 FS or s. 316.2935 FS)

Contact your local county or city law enforcement agency to have the correction certified on your citation. A fee for the law enforcement agency may apply for this service.

Submit the completed citation reflecting the certification along with $96.00 to the Clerk’s office. Points will not be assessed.

Osceola County Traffic Fees

Download Osceola County Traffic Fee Schedule

Traffic Forms

Click here to view forms related to the Traffic Division. 

Operation Green Light

General Information
During the Annual  Operation Green Light, Osceola County customers with suspended driver licenses will have an opportunity to pay overdue court obligations, including traffic tickets, while saving up to 40 percent in additional fees to get their license back.

How?
Virtual & In Person

When?
Annually usually held at the end of March. Please check back regularly or on social media for the next Operation Green Light Dates

For your added convenience, the Florida Licensing on Wheels (FLOW) Bus will be onsite issuing licenses on select dates.

Where?
Osceola County Courthouse
2 Courthouse Square
Kissimmee, FL, 34741

Virtually:  Payment Plan Request

What is Operation Green Light?

  • Residents of Osceola County with a suspended driver license are given the opportunity to pay overdue court obligations, including traffic tickets, while saving up to 40 percent in collections surcharges.
  • Operation Green Light will equate to substantial savings for many individuals.
  • Late fees and reinstatement fees will still apply.
  • Visit https://www.flclerks.com/page/greenlight for event information for all Florida counties.

Who is eligible for reinstatement?

Residents of Osceola County may be eligible for reinstatement for the following:

  • Driving without a valid driver license
  • Driving with a suspended driver license
  • Failing to make a payment on penalties in collection
  • Failing to appear in court for a traffic violation
  • Failing to comply with any provision of chapter 318 or 332

What if my ticket isn’t in collections? Can I still get my late fees waived?

  • No, all late fees associated with overdue tickets are statutorily required and must still be paid, regardless of whether the ticket was sent to collections.
  • Only the collections surcharge will be waived, for those cases that qualify.

Check the status of your driver license to ensure there are no out of county or out of state suspensions or revocations, child support suspensions, or judicial department ordered revocations. https://services.flhsmv.gov/dlcheck/

What do I need to bring?

  • Payment – cash, money order or credit card (3.5% convenience fee applies). Personal checks accepted only for traffic infraction case.
  • Proof of current registration or insurance for registration or insurance cases.

What if I cannot afford to pay my case in full?

  • A down payment is required to set up the payment plan and a monthly payment will be agreed upon

Need More Information?

Call us: (407) 742-3566
E-mail us: [email protected]

Kelvin Soto, Esq.
2 Courthouse Square
Kissimmee, Florida 34741
Department Contact
Traffic Bureau
2 Courthouse Square
Kissimmee, Florida 34741